Metropolitan Police F.C. Isthmian League Premier Div STEP 3

Metropolitan Police F.C. is the football club of the Metropolitan Police Service, although in recent years there has been a relaxation in the rule that players had to be serving members of the police force.They are currently based just outside of London in East Molesey, Surrey and play in the Isthmian League Premier Div. The club was formed in 1919 and played friendlies until they joined the Spartan League in 1928, a league where they were to play until 1960. In 1960 the club switched to the Metropolitan League and joined the Southern League in 1971. They joined the Isthmian League's newly formed Div Two in 1977 and were promoted at the first attempt. In 1982 they came close to promotion, missing out by just two points, but in 1985 were relegated back to Div Two. In 1988 they were promoted once again but 1991 saw them drop to Div Two once more, where they remained until league reorganisation in 2002 saw them placed in Div One South. In 2004 the league was reorganised again and the Met played in Div One for two year, but in 2006 the regionalised Divs returned. In 2010, the Metropolitan Police won their first senior trophy, beating AFC Wimbledon 5v3 on penalties after a 4v4 draw in the final of the London Senior Cup. They finished the 2010/11 season as champions of the Isthmian League Div One South, winning the league by one goal difference over Bognor Regis Town.

Ground: Imber Court, Metropolitan Police Sports Club, Ember Lane, East Molesey, Surrey KT8 0BT
Clubhouse: Tel 0208 398 1267
Boardroom: Tel 0208 398 7358 (match days only)